The Voice Of A Giant

Essays on Seven Russian Prose Classics

Contributions by A. D. P. Briggs, Dr Roger Cockrell, Malcolm V. Jones, W. J. Leatherbarrow, R. A. Peace, David Richards Edited by David Richards, Dr Roger Cockrell

Ebook (VitalSource) - £52.50

Publication date:

02 March 2015

Length of book:

104 pages


University of Exeter Press

ISBN-13: 9780859899536

The Voice of a Giant looks at seven masterpieces of Russian nineteenth-century prose fiction—Pushkin’s “The Queen of Spades”, Lermontov’s “A Hero of Our Time”, Gogol’s “The Greatcoat”, Turgenev’s “Fathers and Sons”, Dostoevsky’s “Notes from Underground”, Tolstoy’s “War and Peace” and Chekhov’s “The Lady with the Dog”.

Each chapter concentrates primarily on a detailed analysis of one of these works but reference is also made to historical background, the seven author’s general attitudes and the distinguishing characteristics of Russian literature.

The book is intended for A-Level students, for first- and second-year undergraduates, and for the general reader exploring the richness and subtlety of a body of writing which has profoundly influenced the modern European consciousness.