The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher

By (author) Christine Jax

Publication date:

19 May 2011

Length of book:

142 pages


R&L Education

ISBN-13: 9781610480741

In The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher, Dr. Christine Jax presents a path to great teaching that shows how and why teaching is "a calling" in the true sense of the words. The book is grounded in the theory that the education of another person is a spiritual endeavor that improves as the inner life of the teacher improves. While avoiding the perils of dogma, doctrine, and politics, Jax has found a way for teachers to understand the role of God and spirituality in the classroom. She does this by focusing on the teacher's strengths and commitment rather than on the student or the subject matter content. Through inspirational stories, concrete instructional strategies, and spiritual practices, this book helps teachers go through stages of enlightenment in order to become energized, fulfilled, and successful at increasing student growth and learning. The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher demonstrates how the individual teacher's gifts and beliefs are the primary elements of great teaching.
Our profession has not done enough to propel positive images of teachers and teaching. The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher, however, gives us a unique insight into the hearts, minds, and behaviors of teachers who are truly operating at the highest levels. While knowledge, success, and the ability to build relationships are key attributes for any teacher, it is faithfulness to our purpose and ourselves that truly makes a difference. Read The Seven Stages…and start your journey today!